Advance Review: The Crown

CROWN

 

The end of a lovable and fantastic series is always heartbreaking. No reader ever wants one of their favourite series to end. Unfortunately, all good things must come to an end eventually, and it doesn’t matter how much you cry or scream. The end of Kiera Cass’ The Selection series was devastating.

The Crown is the final instalment of Kiera Cass’ brilliant series, The Selection. It is set 20 years after the Selection for America Singer ended, and now it begins for her daughter, Eadlyn. In the previous novel, The Heir, we follow America’s daughter, Eadlyn, the future queen of Illea, and the first princess to hold her own Selection. Against her wishes and to save her royal reputation, she welcomes 35 random strangers into her home, and then she must eliminate them until she finds one that captures her heart.

The book starts with the heartbreaking morning we left in The Heir. I was on the edge of my seat, my heart in my throat right from the beginning of The Crown. Forced to eliminate many contestants, Eadlyn is able to get to know each of the boys better. And so are we. *swoon* So many dreamy contestants…

As the selected men slowly dwindled out, I found myself falling in love with the the last few boys. For Eadlyn, it was a nightmare trying to decide, and I was going along for that ride too. If I was in her situation, I would have been balling my eyes out, full on ugly crying the entire time because they were all SO GOOD. Hale… Henri… Kile… Marid… ALL SO GOOD.

 

Those boys also brought some fantastic plot twists. A lot of them left me absolutely heartbroken.

In the first book of this half of the series, I wasn’t the hugest fan of Eadlyn. I much preferred reading from the perspective of America in the first half of the series. I’m not sure what it was that I wasn’t liking, but maybe I was a bit like the public of Illea. But with The Crown, I found her growing on me and I actually found that she was a pretty awesome main character.

Unfortunately, my hopes for The Crown fell short. I had been anticipating this novel since the release of The Heir last year, and when I finally got it in my hands, I could barely contain my excitement. However, the novel fell short for me. It wasn’t as exciting as the last few books had been. The Selection half with America and Maxon featured a lot of action with rebel groups and everything, which always left me sitting on the edge of my seat in anticipation. But from The Heir onwards, there wasn’t new things happening on each page. It was just the same thing after another which left me wanting a little bit more.

The romance between Eadlyn and her chosen suitor seemed to be rushed for me. The series took forever to get to the part where the main character has figured out who her heart belongs to. It’s not until the end that she figures it out and then it sort of feels like Kiera Cass felt like she only had a certain number of pages left to somehow make this relationship work, which made the relationship feel really rough and sudden. Despite this, I loved who Eadlyn chose. He was definitely one of the men higher up in the ranks for me. *cue the heart shaped eyes*

The relationship was predictable and the ending didn’t surprise me at all. At first, I was beginning to think that it would surprise me. And I honestly didn’t mind it too much. As much as I love the man she chose, I would have been very happy with the other option if it had have happened. However, Cass took the predictable route.

Overall, I loved this book and am so incredibly sad to see it end. I can’t wait to see what Kiera Cass has lined up next for her readers.

I give The Crown by Kiera Cass 4 out of 5 stars.

Phew it’s hard doing a review without giving away important names and spoilers…

Thank you so much, Harper Collins for sending me this amazing novel!

 

Have you read The Selection series? What are your thoughts? Leave your thoughts in the comments below!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Advance Review: The Crown

Leave a Reply

