How To Get Into That Writing Mood

In a writer’s life, I think 80%, maybe even up to 90% of their time is spent procrastinating, while whatever is left is spent writing… sort of. Okay, maybe make that like 5% of the time, and then the other 5 is spent eating chocolate (or cake, whichever tickles your fancy) to make up for the guilt we feel. So here’s how you can break that bad habit and turn it into a writing frenzy (hopefully).

What is the writing mood, you ask? Good question. It can be very hard to find. Some people might even think it’s a rare species, only found in the remote corners of the world… Oh wait… the world doesn’t have corners, it’s round… That must mean it doesn’t exist right? Or well, that’s what it can feel like sometimes.

But trust me, it does exist! Sometimes it just needs to be coaxed out.

Here’s how writing usually goes for most people:

  • Opens Word document (that’s an achievement in itself)
  • Stares at it for a few minutes. Hopes words will appear magically on the page (intense stares work the best)

  • Types a word or two. Maybe even manages a sentence.

  • Opens the internet… yes this is a bad idea… very bad idea.
  • Youtube… watches one video. Looks at recommended videos. Goes from watching Youtuber videos to cat videos for hours… #Oops?
  • Feels guilty. Feels incredibly guilty. Sits there and cries. Eats some chocolate. Feels worse about self because there goes the diet.
  • Closes internet. Forbids self from opening it again.

  • Goes back to writing… Writes a few more words at most.
  • Writing lasts for about 5 minutes… and that’s with staring at the screen for about 4 minutes and 59 seconds.
  • Opens the internet again. Scrolls through Facebook, Twitter, reads some blog posts, watches yet more Youtube videos.
  • The guilt process starts all over again.

Repeat the entire process over again… just a few more times… or maybe for the entirety of your entire writing career. 

Yes, I know. It’s terrible. We can cry together.

As much as us writers would like to say this isn’t the “true” process of writing, it is unfortunately the case for most writers. A lot of my fellow writer friends admit to having the same procrastination problems. Not to be dramatic or anything, but it’s almost as serious as unicorns being real.

So now the big question is, what do we do to fix this problem? Well, actually, the real question is how do we prove that unicorns are real? Because, I mean, they obvs are, right? Right???

Here’s some suggestions that can help you get into that writing mood:

  • Turn your internet off. Gasp! Yes! I did just say that! What a terrible suggestion! But it could also be the option that leads you away from temptation.
  • If you’re on the internet, procrastinate for your book! Research! Scroll through Google for images of your characters! Drop yourself into your literary location on Google Maps and search the area! Just as long as you don’t stray towards the Youtube or Twitter side of the internet, you’re fine! Restrain yourself! You can do it, I believe in you!
  • Try putting some music on! Turn it up nice and loud. Drown out any other thoughts that aren’t writing related. Music can keep you focused. Something that doesn’t involve lyrics can stop you from getting distracted.

  • Find a location that works for you. Whether you prefer the comforts of home, the quiet of the wild nature, or the bustle of a public environment such as a cafe, location is important. Location means everything when it comes to getting in a writing mood. The more comfortable you are, the easier it is to… Zzz… fall… asleep… Zzzzzzzz (sorry fell asleep on the keyboard)… I mean, write! I was writing this entire time, I promise.
  • Last of all, I think the most important tip is to just write. I know that’s easier said than done. Believe me, I am very aware of how hard that can be. But as long as you’re getting down at least a couple of words, it’s better than nothing at all.

 

So go forth! What are you waiting for?? You now know some ways to ease yourself into the writing mood. So go write! Go produce some wordly goodness!

While you’re in the process of procrastinating (reading this blog post, of course. (Yes, it’s procrastination)), why don’t you tell me what you’re writing at the moment in the comments below? Let me know how it’s going! Discuss what your biggest distractions are! I would love to know!

4 thoughts on “How To Get Into That Writing Mood

  1. Ahh procrastination. GOOD TIMES. #lies😂 I totally relate to this! And I DO think all writers will probably relate to it as well because ahahahah procrastination. omg. *dies* I procrastinate a lot when I edit, but when i’m drafting, I kind of do an intense binge-write so I don’t actually procrastinate a lot because I’m racing myself! I find that’s super good motivation. I want to write this book in set-amount-of-time? Then I break it down to how many thousands of words I need to write in the morning/afternoon/evening and then tackle them. When I’m done I get a break. I am pretty motivated so that works for me. 😉 I caaaan’t turn off my internet though! That makes me panic for some reason. Plus how would I function without my 5min twitter breaks?😂 (But seriously it is a good idea, but I just don’t think I could do it. hehe.)

    THIS IS SUCH A GOOD POST MADDIE WELL DONE.

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

