Surviving Classics: F. Scott Fitzgerald

My class, Great Books for university has me reading classics. I’ve never been good at reading classics so I thought I would do a series on my blog called How I Survived Classics. This week is F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby.

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald follows the story of Nick Carroway as he moves to West Egg of New York, beside a man named Gatsby. By everybody, Gatsby is known, whether its stories that are stretched by rumours, or truth which is buried deep. Every night during the summer, dozens of people come to Gatsby’s home to party, drink and smoke cigarettes.

I was pleasantly surprised by this novel. After the first two classics, Foe by J.M. Coetzee and The Aunt’s Story by Patrick White, I was terrified this book was going to be just as terrible. I had asked people who had read it previously and they all said it wasn’t great.

But! I actually liked it!

To be honest, I’m not entirely sure why I liked it. I just know that I found myself enjoying it. Although let’s not get too crazy here and say that I was finding myself excited to read it. But I didn’t find myself groaning and asking myself if I had to. And maybe it was because it was beside those books which I didn’t like one bit.

The end events left me with my jaw on the ground. Yes, the plot is obvious. Yes, the upcoming events should have been completely dead clear before they happened. But my brain hadn’t caught up until those events happened. While the book was winding down, rather than accelerating with intensity, the biggest thing to happen in the book yet happened. Can you blame me for being surprised? And those events only had a couple of pages to be said.

I give F.Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby 3.5 stars out of 5. Maybe picture Leonardo Di Caprio while you read it. I’m sure that will help.

You’re welcome. You can thank me later. 

Have you read The Great Gatsby? What were your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

