Let’s Talk Body Image

Before I jump into this blog post, I just want to say that this is no way a ‘what you should do’ blog post. I am creating this post to say that if you struggle with the issue of body image, you’re not alone. This is purely just personal experiences that I am willing to share. So let’s jump straight into the blog post, and discuss body image.

Our body and the way we view it is an issue that many of us struggle with. And I’m not just talking about women here, because I know there are a lot of men out there who also struggle. It’s the self doubt that tricks our brains into thinking we are ugly, we are fat, we are stupid. And while this is probably not true, we can’t help but think it.

Some mornings, you wake up feeling fantastic, you wake up feeling attractive, you wake up feeling skinny, you wake up feeling worth being looked at in a good way. Ah, those are the good days, aren’t they? And then there’s other mornings where everything goes in a completely different direction and you suddenly hate everything about you, or even just one small detail which isn’t perfect to your opinion.

Weight is a big thing, for women and men. It’s the weight in our thighs, the flappiness of our arms, the “lack” of curve in our waists. It’s a never ending, vicious cycle which begins when there is no issue in the first place. Because let’s be honest, we are probably a perfect size for our natural bodies. But of course, it’s not just weight. It’s things like teeth, hair, height, and more which can really start affecting the way we see ourselves. And these are things you either can’t change or you can only do so much about.

Do you want to know where it comes from for me? I judge myself against what other people look like. That girl is skinnier? That means I’m fat.  Look at her smile, it’s so straight and beautiful? Maybe I just won’t smile now. Negative thoughts consume my body, and I’m left feeling pretty bad about myself. It affects my confidence in a big way to the point I’m constantly worrying about what others are going to think of me. Yeah, it’s not the best feeling.

I’ve started straightening my teeth because I was aware of how crooked my teeth were. The second I put on even a tiny little gram of fat, I’m stressing and cutting down on my food and exercising again. My skin is hardly ever perfect and clean. Every day I look at my face in the mirror and see blemishes, and just cringe. And what do I do? I smother myself in makeup just so I can leave the house and hope people don’t notice them as much.

So I just wanted people to know that nobody is perfect, and that we all struggle with the same issues when it comes to seeing ourselves in a positive light. I don’t think there is a single person out there who can every single day, say, “Hey, I’m happy with my body.” And if there is, then I am truly happy for you, because that is a seriously great achievement, and you should be proud of yourself.

The only advice I will give on this (I know, I said it would be a no advice post, but this is important), please don’t do anything drastic to change your body. That’s dangerous and can cause a lot more issues than you started with. And you know what, screw it, I’m also going to say this because it’s true and everyone should know. You’re beautiful, yes I’m talking to you behind the screen; you’re beautiful, no matter what size you are.

I would love to create an environment where we can all openly discuss our issues with other people that are struggling in the same way. So please, boys and girls, men and women, no matter what gender you are or how old you are, drop comments down below so we can support each other in a safe environment, filled with no judgement.

~Maddie xx

P.S. Don’t forget to leave comments down below! x

Leave a Reply

