Review: The Hate U Give

***Sent for review from Walker Books Australia***

Words can’t express how much I feel for this book, and how so excited I am to review it. I haven’t even finished the book yet but I know I have to get these words down right now. So here we go. UPDATE: Finished it and still head over heels in love.

I have so many words for this book, and yet none can quite capture how I feel. Like I said, I haven’t finished reading it yet, but I already feel like that doesn’t matter because I am already so in love with this book and everybody needs to know that so they can go out and buy it and read it too. I feel like that sentence: long, and constantly trying to catch my breath, but I can never quite catch it because I’m just constantly left stunned by The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas.

Image result for the hate u give

For those who don’t know it (have you been living under a rock?), The Hate U Give is this fantastic diverse read that everybody needs to get their hands on. It tells the story of a coloured black teenager who was killed for doing absolutely nothing wrong. He wasn’t even armed. I know right? Tragic. And that’s just where this story begins to tell this amazing story that opens your eyes to the entire world. It follows our main character, Starr who is determined to get justice for her best friend, no matter what the end results.

UPDATE: I FINISHED IT AND OMG OMG OMG

I don’t know why you are wasting your time sitting here, reading this silly review when you should be going outside (I know, outside is scary, but trust me on this), and buying this book. Then you can go back inside and just read it. Doesn’t that sound amazing? I just want to re-read it already, just from thinking about it.

Okay, let’s get into this review properly.

So this book is hilarious. For something which covers such a serious topic and has its dark moments, humour is the last thing you would expect. But it just puts the cream on top of the cake. I mean, this book was already amazing without the humour. Taking that out wouldn’t affect it. It just breaks it up a bit, and makes it just a little bit easier to swallow. I found myself actually laughing out loud, and really awkwardly in public situations because I couldn’t help myself.

I know I shouldn’t be focused on this, but it has to go in here somewhere. Starr and Chris… omg…  *makes adoring eyes* SHIP! OTP! #GOALS! Starr and Chris are so freaking adorable, and just finished the story off rather nicely. Now we have a cherry on top of our cake, and our cream.

What I think is the most important about this book though, is that it informs. It completely opened up my white eyes to our horrible world, to a world where there is so much more going on than I can even understand. I want to thank Angie Thomas for that, for sharing her world and showing me the truth.

 

I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars.

 

Thank you Walker Books Australia for sending me The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas to review. As you can see, I absolutely loved it.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

