Review: All the Bright Places

Warning: Hint at spoilers. I’m sorry. I couldn’t help myself.

Make sure you have a box of Kleenex beside you when you start this one, you’ll need it. Trust me. But just because it makes you cry, doesn’t mean that it is a bad book, because it most definitely isn’t. All the Bright Places is such a special novel which shares an important message. Thank you, Jennifer Niven for being brave enough to share your Finch’s story.

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven is about a girl who falls in love with a boy who wants to die. I warned you. I told you you would need your Kleenex tissues. It follows their love story – how it began, how it evolved, and how it ended. The entire time, you’re falling in love too – with the book, with their story, with both Finch and Violet. Finch, being the boy who wants to die after a somewhat crappy life. And Violet, being the girl who will hopefully save him and bring him back onto solid ground. I won’t spoil how the novel ends, though. You’ll have to read it to find out.

What I Loved

I fell down a rabbit hole when I picked up All the Bright Places. And it’s one that I can’t seem to get myself out of, and I really don’t want to. We get to read the book in two perspectives – Finch’s and Violet’s. And this is what I loved most about the book. We got to know two stories in one, that intertwined together to create one magnificent book. We got to know each character’s story in depth, to learn each of their struggles, and feel for and with them. We got to see what was hurting each person, and how the other character made everything better, how they rounded each other out to be the perfect couple. We fell in love with them because we got to see who they really are.

This book is just so important. It touches on subjects which happen in so many lives, that go unnoticed until sometimes the last minute, until sometimes it’s too late (cue the waterworks). And this book brings the huge topics of mental illness and suicide home by making it relatable for readers, particularly those who have experienced it themselves or with the people they love.

What I Didn’t Like

As the hopeless romantic I am, the ending killed me. Yes, I sort of just spoiled the ending. But surely you must have seen it coming? I felt a piece of myself break off and go down the drain. Although, of course, I didn’t hate this part of the book. It’s what this book is about. But, it did make me sad because I went down with the ship.

Honestly, I can’t think of anything that I disliked about this novel. I loved it and all its glory. 

Epilogue

All the Bright Places is one of those books that will leave you rocking in a corner while you bawl your eyes out. And yet, you still love it all the same, and you never want to put it down. I’ve already re-read it a few more times since finishing it because I can’t leave it behind. It’s this amazing goodness, and I don’t know what else to say about it, except that it’s now one of my favourite books and I highly recommend it.

If you haven’t, I also highly recommend you listen to Finch’s song which Jennifer Niven so kindly shared on Twitter. I’ve had it on repeat for a week, and have been choking on my tears since. (Hope it’s okay for me to share, I just loved it so much)

I rate All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven 5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

