Review: If There Is No Tomorrow

***Kindly sent for review from Harlequin Teen Australia***

You know how sometimes you stumble across a really good book that you just can’t put down? That you need to finish that night because otherwise your entire world is going to go up in flames and you’re going to die with that world? Yeah… me too… If There Is No Tomorrow by Jennifer L. Armentrout is exactly that definition.

There’s always the possibility that something might happen to mean there won’t be a tomorrow, and that’s the life Lena suddenly finds herself living after a serious accident. I won’t name that accident, though, because I don’t want to reveal any spoilers. I think you should go into this book blind, and just let yourself experience it all as you are reading. I feel actually incredibly stupid for not working out what the accident was prior to it happening, but I welcomed the surprise, and this brought on more emotion. It’s a sad but sweet story which involves Lena trying to work past a bone-gripping guilt, and you find yourself falling in love with the protagonist as she works through her mental struggles.

What I Liked

The chemistry! Oh my Lord Carlston… The relationship that builds between Lena and Sebastian had me turning those pages like there was no tomorrow (Ha, see what I did there?). I found myself not caring about the other parts of the book (I cared but… Sebastian…) because I just wanted to find out what was happening between them. Although, there was just one small problem with their relationship…

…I just couldn’t deal with how cute they were. And their relationship at the end??? KILL ME NOW.

But seriously, will somebody please bring me a Sebastian? Who is equally good looking, nice and everything else he possesses? I will love you forever. 

On a more serious note, I’m sensing a little theme in the books I’ve been reading lately. Of course all books have messages which are important and are trying to speak to the readers. But, sometimes, there’s just some messages that are a little more powerful and which provoke a huge amount of emotions. If There Is No Tomorrow is no exception. This book had me almost WEEPING!

 

What I Didn’t Like

This book is all sorts of EVIL. You want to know why? Because it forced me to read it ALL night. And I mean, almost literally, ALL night. I stayed up until 1am every night while reading it (which was only two nights but still), and then I had to go to university pretending I was alive. But if that’s what it feels like to be a zombie, then it was so worth it.

 

 

If There Is No Tomorrow was my first Jennifer L. Armentrout novel ever. Yes, I know. I’m such a terrible person. I’m so ashamed it has taken me this long to finally read one of hers, particularly when it was so good. But I am so incredibly glad that I finally took action and read one. I loved it!

I rate If There Is No Tomorrow by Jennifer L. Armentrout 4.5 stars out of 5.

Leave a Reply

